Suspend belief (along with elections)

29 10 2015

Bangkok Post, 28 October 2015:

Deputy Prime Minister Wissanu Krea-ngam has reassured US ambassador Glyn Davies that Thailand is following the roadmap to restore democracy and a general election will be held by May 2017….

He said he told the US envoy the country is moving towards full democracy under the roadmap.

Bangkok Post 29 October 2015:

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha says he may need to remain in power as long as the country is not at peace.

Gen Prayut was speaking in parliament at Wednesday’s meeting of the so-called “five rivers of power” — the National Council for Peace and Order (NCPO), the cabinet, the National Legislative Assembly, the Constitution Drafting Committee and the National Reform Steering Assembly….

As the NCPO proceeds with the roadmap, there must be no attempts to stir up sedition or hatred, Gen Prayut said.

“Politicians do not have to be suspicious of me. [The media] writes every day that I intend to cling on to power. I must make it clear. If there is no peace and order, I must stay on…”.


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 10 2015
“I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” | Political Prisoners in Thailand

[…] As PPT noted in a post yesterday, in the Bangkok Post of 29 October 2015, self-proclaimed Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha was reported as stating “he may need to remain in power as long as the country is not at peace.” He added: “If there is no peace and order, I must stay on…”. […]

30 10 2015
“I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” | Political Prisoners of Thailand

[…] As PPT noted in a post yesterday, in the Bangkok Post of 29 October 2015, self-proclaimed Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha was reported as stating “he may need to remain in power as long as the country is not at peace.” He added: “If there is no peace and order, I must stay on…”. […]