“I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!”

30 10 2015

As PPT noted in a post yesterday, in the Bangkok Post of 29 October 2015, self-proclaimed Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha was reported as stating “he may need to remain in power as long as the country is not at peace.” He added: “If there is no peace and order, I must stay on…”.

What we didn’t comment on was Prayuth’s statement that he would “close the country” if peace in Thailand proves elusive.” He means “peace” as defined by him as The Dictator.

Sounding like something out of the Fawlty Towers episode “The Wedding Party,” the junta’s Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan has declared that Prayuth made a mistake. Well, as we know, The Dictator can’t actually be mistaken, but anyway, you get our drift.

Prawit says: “The prime minister did not mean it literally…”. But he did confirm that if there is no peace and order, Prayuth and the junta would stay in power.

Yes, that’s exactly what Prayuth said.

Yes, these military thugs are difficult to follow, but Prawit has the answer: “Don’t think too much…”.


Actions

Information

4 responses

18 11 2015
The army and the odor of fish | Political Prisoners in Thailand

[…] another case of Fawlty Towerism – “I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” – the junta is looking worse than […]

18 11 2015
The army and the odor of fish | Political Prisoners of Thailand

[…] another case of Fawlty Towerism – “I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” – the junta is looking worse than […]

19 11 2015
The army and the odor of fish II | Political Prisoners in Thailand

[…] follow.” So the blame is to be attached to “subordinates.” It’s the “I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” […]

19 11 2015
The army and the odor of fish II | Political Prisoners of Thailand

[…] follow.” So the blame is to be attached to “subordinates.” It’s the “I’m so sorry, but my wife has made a mistake!” […]