Prayuth’s tantrums getting worse

4 02 2016

Everyone knows that The Dictator is sexist, erratic and short-tempered but he’s actually getting worse.

Coconuts Bangkok reports on yet another meltdown, this one throughout a day. They have two videos which are well worth watching, even if one does not understand Thai.YosemitePrime Minister, General and self-proclaimed savior of the country, Prayuth Chan-ocha banged on tables, threw things about and generally behaved like a child having a tantrum – or like a Thai despot who feels he is crossed by the minions.

The report states that Prayuth “clearly reached the end of his tether yesterday after being bombarded all day with questions from the press on the election, causing him to lose it in spectacular fashion during the afternoon press conference.”

It began in the morning when instead of asking about the exhibit he was opening, reporters insisted on asking about the draft charter that everyone seems to despise. That set him off:

“You ask me every day like… will the election be in 2017? That’s all you do! Just go have an election tomorrow. Go vote for someone! And what if you get a crappy one. What are you gonna do?”

He continued: “If the country goes down, don’t blame me. Everything I say makes sense because I read. Do you ever read? Have you read anything about how this government does good for the country? Answer me!”

And on he went berating journalists.

In the afternoon, his fuse was reignited:

… Prayuth held a press conference and continued ranting, saying that no one defended him when he was criticized.

“Has your right as media increased?” the PM asked as he pointed to a reporter in the crowd.

“If you wanna write something badly about me, go ahead. The foreign media say ‘Thailand censors media’. How have I censored media? Which publication have I censored?” [PPT: we don’t think he meant this for his censorship has been well-documented.]

“They criticize me and no one helps me. I have democratic rights too. You don’t defend me, but you defend those bastards?”

“You don’t want the constitution to pass, do you? It’s my business. I’ll do it myself.”

“That’s why I’m here for you! You want me back again?” He slammed on the podium as glasses flew off. “If you don’t want the Constitution Court of Thailand….Who do you want then?…

PPT can’t think of a more unstable leader in modern Thailand.


Actions

Information

2 responses

4 02 2016
Human and legal rights trashed | Political Prisoners in Thailand

[…] has been a busy news period of late, with The Dictator’s erratic behavior and tantrums, several abduction-detentions, efforts at heightened internet censorship and the stillbirth of the […]

4 02 2016
Human and legal rights trashed | Political Prisoners of Thailand

[…] has been a busy news period of late, with The Dictator’s erratic behavior and tantrums, several abduction-detentions, efforts at heightened internet censorship and the stillbirth of the […]